There are currently three grants available from the Indiana District. Learn more about the various grants available below. 

New Church Worker Grants

The new church worker grant is available for ordained and commissioned workers who were members of an Indiana District congregation while attending a synodical university and are now called to a congregation, school or RSO of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod. The grant is awarded to individuals following initial placement and may be received for a total of three years.  Applicants must apply each year and they must apply for the grant within 7 years of graduation.

The amount of the grant given is based on the number of years they attended a synodical university, not to exceed 7 years for ordained workers and 4 years for commissioned workers. The number of years does not include full year internships or vicarages. Applications are due yearly on December 31. Grants will be disbursed to all eligible individuals in April.

New Church Workers Grant Policy.

Download the New Church Worker Grant Application here.

Contact Indiana District LCMS ( for more information.

Ministry Support Grant

This grant is given with the intention of assisting District congregations with new ministry and outreach initiatives in the areas of workers, equipment and facilities. Grants are awarded on an annual basis and are renewable for up to 3 years.

Download the Ministry Support Grant guidelines and instructions here. 

Contact Rev. Geoff Robinson ( for more information.

New Ministry Initiative Grant

The New Ministry Initiative Matching Grant is given with the intention of assisting Indiana District congregations, Indiana RSOs, and Indiana District circuits with new outreach efforts in their communities.

Applications need to be received by the Indiana District Outreach Executive’s office by December 1, March 1, or August 1 for consideration. Grant applicants will be screened by the Council for Congregational Outreach. Final approval of the grant will be vested in the Indiana District Board of Directors.

Download the New Ministry Initiative Grant guidelines and instructions here.

Contact Rev. Geoff Robinson ( for more information.